Current Client Version: v0.6.4.6

Author Topic: CGMinger glitch  (Read 2132 times)

Timelord2067

  • Porn Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +5/-0
CGMinger glitch
« on: July 06, 2015, 09:56:42 am »
I have two second-hand cards on a second-hand Win 7 box that have been humming away for about 12 months.

The day before yesterday I accidentally clicked "s" settings then "w" write to config file in one roll of the fingers as the two keys are one above the other on a keyboard.

I clicked the ESC key and thought nothing of it until later when I "q" quit CGMiner 3.4.3 and restarted (I have a text file and copy & paste the whole code to the DOS prompt), lo and behold, all the previous pools and the new ones have been added to the list (with error messages)

The config files in the dir haven't been affected, and trying to run from different dir results in the files being added yet again.

I downloaded the most up to date version of CGMiner and it won't even start on my system, so would appreciate any advice?
BTC 1SExsxcbXWkuRbhLhKG1w8KgXp1eY1GbN | SXC SEXYKUp7CYWKLWr54UtBKVnfjoN13Ybpha

lavajumper

  • Administrator
  • Porn Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 200
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: CGMinger glitch
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2015, 04:18:55 pm »
what happens when you start CGMiner from command line. Usually it will tell you what its choking on.

Timelord2067

  • Porn Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: CGMinger glitch
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2015, 12:19:28 am »
what happens when you start CGMiner from command line. Usually it will tell you what its choking on.

Quote
Started cgminer 3.4.3
Loaded configuration file cgminer.conf
Error in configuration file, partially loaded.
Start cgminer with -T to see what failed to load.

So I do that and it just looks like it starts normally without the top row of stats.
BTC 1SExsxcbXWkuRbhLhKG1w8KgXp1eY1GbN | SXC SEXYKUp7CYWKLWr54UtBKVnfjoN13Ybpha

Nerull

  • Slutcard Project
  • Pole Dancer
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: CGMinger glitch
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2015, 02:20:14 am »
at -T and see what it says

Timelord2067

  • Porn Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: CGMinger glitch
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2015, 03:06:23 am »
at -T and see what it says

Yeh, I did that and it just says all the stuff about this pool changes diff to that and so on, nothing conclusive. 

I restarted the PC and got a blue screen of death, then another restart and comp came back to life, but still with added pools. 

It's a nuisance, but I can work around.
BTC 1SExsxcbXWkuRbhLhKG1w8KgXp1eY1GbN | SXC SEXYKUp7CYWKLWr54UtBKVnfjoN13Ybpha

lavajumper

  • Administrator
  • Porn Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 200
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: CGMinger glitch
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2015, 04:20:41 pm »
Error in configuration file is most likely the significant part. You can try running the file through an online Jason validation for a start. Probably the exact line that is failing is recorded in the logs, if it's not being printed using the -T switch. You mentioned there were error messages when the file was created, which suggests there is something quirky going on. I would concentrate on the configuration file. Maybe create a simple one, then add entries, restart, repeat until it fails.

Also,BSOD  on boot is usually a result of the video drivers not loading exactly right. It happened a couple of times on my windows machine when I was getting the opencl  and development kits installed.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2015, 04:24:24 pm by lavajumper »

Tom

  • Pole Dancer
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: CGMinger glitch
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2015, 07:33:44 pm »
What cards are you using?

cgminer is outdated for GPU mining, you better use a newer software (like sgminer, depending on the chip of the cards). Not the solution for your problem, but I guess it would be solved this way, too (next to higher hashrate).

Timelord2067

  • Porn Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: CGMinger glitch
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2015, 06:07:37 am »
I've switched to Multi Miner, not a perfect solution...

I've also turned off my two AMD Radeon R9 200 HD 7900 series cards as my last power bill worked out to be $5 per day energy and I wouldn't even have mined that total for the year.

I'm having a play with vanity wallet addresses although, I get the "Delta" error, even when I rolled back the drivers to the recommended Version 12.10 , so not having much luck.

(I never did have much firepower)
BTC 1SExsxcbXWkuRbhLhKG1w8KgXp1eY1GbN | SXC SEXYKUp7CYWKLWr54UtBKVnfjoN13Ybpha