Current Client Version: v0.10.4.0

Author Topic: Setting up a "Node"  (Read 3313 times)

lavajumper

  • Administrator
  • Porn Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 241
  • Karma: +9/-0
Setting up a "Node"
« on: June 04, 2015, 01:04:36 am »
A "node" is actually nothing more than a full-blockchain client that will accept block-download requests from 'the wild'. In order for the dnsseeder to pick it up and tell people, it MUST run on port 9560. This covers any of the clients that we have ( Windows, Mac, and Linux ). The only one that doesn't qualify is the Android app.

Even unconfigured your wallet will announce itself.

So to set up a node, this is what I do:

sexcoin.conf:
Code: [Select]
rpcuser=butthead
rpcpassword=buttheadsstupidpasswordthatnobodycouldeverguess
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1

server=1
listen=1

addnode=dnsseed.sexcoin.info
addnode=dnsseed.lavajumper.com
addnode=dnsseed.sxcseed.com

Then open the firewall port to accept traffic on port 9560

If you are running sexcoin on a computer inside a protected network, you will want to set your border router to forward 9560 back to the machine running sexcoin.

One thing: I don't EVER use the wallet on a node... Its there, but I NEVER put coins in it.

Bitice

  • Pole Dancer
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Setting up a "Node"
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2015, 12:33:30 pm »
Idea. An option in the wallet menus to "Run as node" which does all this for the user, making it more user friendly.

It could even have a pop up saying "are you sure?" explaining that this is not really intended for normal every day wallets but more for dedicated (preferably empty) nodes.

Timelord2067

  • #WhoviansAU
  • Porn Star
  • **
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +7/-0
  • Piss is the new Cum
    • Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror (and) Conventions Forum #SFFHCF
Re: Setting up a "Node"
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2015, 01:38:59 pm »
I mostly understand that now.  Am still a little groggy on aspects of my open wallet being a sort-of-node but the "pay n to node" still leaves me scratching my head, who get it? How's it divied up, who's processing the transaction? That sort of thing.

The other more to the point question is do I have to announce that I am a node to others? By that I mean do I tell people addnode=nnnn of is it when I connect to other nodes I simply become a node too?
« Last Edit: June 09, 2015, 01:40:40 pm by Timelord2067 »
BTC 1SExsxcbXWkuRbhLhKG1w8KgXp1eY1GbN | SXC SEXYKUp7CYWKLWr54UtBKVnfjoN13Ybpha | http://tinyurl.com/CryptopiaSexCoin

lavajumper

  • Administrator
  • Porn Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 241
  • Karma: +9/-0
Re: Setting up a "Node"
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2015, 07:30:06 pm »
When you set the listen=1 and server=1, your client will announce itself to the network as being able to supply blocks. Its a flag that gets passed in the handshake messages

Also, there is a way to safely use your wallet as a node, litecoin has a writeup about it somewhere. Basically you use all best network security practices ( strong password, well-configured firewall ).

I prefer to err on the side of caution. One thing about crypto is that there are a LOT of very determined and talented thieves around. So when I set a client up as a node, and open the firewall to it I prefer not to have coins in that instance, just in case someone figures out how to bittwiddle a packet and bypass the security.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2015, 07:37:06 pm by lavajumper »

Bitice

  • Pole Dancer
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Setting up a "Node"
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2015, 11:13:03 am »
I'm going to point out an alternative to bitnodes.net as I think their prices are a little high, cloudatcost.com:



Compared to bitnodes:



Granted there is more work to be done if you go for something like cloudatcost but you actually have an entire server to yourself to do with whatever you wish on top of running a node.
Their smallest package is pretty much the same as the smallest package from Bitnodes but is only $35 one time fee vs $50 pr year.
If I had to guess, this is all Bitnodes does, they rent servers from cheap places like cloudatcost then add a node to it and charge you for the service. Which is all well and good, extra service means extra fees of course but just pointing out there are alternatives  ;)

lavajumper

  • Administrator
  • Porn Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 241
  • Karma: +9/-0
Re: Setting up a "Node"
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2015, 01:02:12 pm »
@Bitice..... You know how to take a pulse. I'm again impressed.

Timelord2067

  • #WhoviansAU
  • Porn Star
  • **
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +7/-0
  • Piss is the new Cum
    • Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror (and) Conventions Forum #SFFHCF
Re: Setting up a "Node"
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2015, 01:07:42 pm »
I'm going to point out an alternative to bitnodes.net as I think their prices are a little high, cloudatcost.com:


Compared to bitnodes:


Granted there is more work to be done if you go for something like cloudatcost but you actually have an entire server to yourself to do with whatever you wish on top of running a node.
Their smallest package is pretty much the same as the smallest package from Bitnodes but is only $35 one time fee vs $50 pr year.
If I had to guess, this is all Bitnodes does, they rent servers from cheap places like cloudatcost then add a node to it and charge you for the service. Which is all well and good, extra service means extra fees of course but just pointing out there are alternatives  ;)

Who does the setting up? Does cloudatcost.com?  Also, I *think* the purpose of bitnodes.net is for crowd-funding ie each person chips in a small amount ie $5  per person, where as it looks like cloudatcost.com is a one person in charge set up.

Bitnodes.net also seems to be setting up the funding for numerous coins and waiting for any one to come along who wants to donate (BTC / LTC / DOGE ) come to mind, there'd have to be enough of them already?

Thanks for the heads up.
BTC 1SExsxcbXWkuRbhLhKG1w8KgXp1eY1GbN | SXC SEXYKUp7CYWKLWr54UtBKVnfjoN13Ybpha | http://tinyurl.com/CryptopiaSexCoin

lavajumper

  • Administrator
  • Porn Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 241
  • Karma: +9/-0
Re: Setting up a "Node"
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2015, 01:36:01 pm »
The thing I like about bitnodes is, as Timelord mentioned, its crowdfunded. The other thing is that it is managed by them, so we don't have to do anything,so we all chip in a couple of bucks and bingo, another stable node.

Another plus is that when you send in your coin, you could get back from it. They have a system set up where you are buying 'shares' in any transaction fees that are collected by the node. Admittedly, this is stupid for sexcoin right now. It makes a difference when a large percentage of your users are using things like electrum, android and iOS wallets. So the 'crowd' will not see that benefit for at least a year on sexcoin.

I'm thinking it would be a good idea to do both. Right now I'm paying about $9 / month for each of my "node only" servers. The bonus on that is that I can pay in Bitcoin, the downside is that I have to go in periodically and check on them. Maintaining one node is not all that much work, but I've got 7 that I'm maintaining, along with the block explorer, some email servers etc. etc. , the time it takes to maintain them starts to really add up.

edit: the other thing is that when you run a node, you better have an unmetered connection.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2015, 01:38:27 pm by lavajumper »

Timelord2067

  • #WhoviansAU
  • Porn Star
  • **
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +7/-0
  • Piss is the new Cum
    • Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror (and) Conventions Forum #SFFHCF
Re: Setting up a "Node"
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2015, 01:47:56 pm »
The only down side to bitnode.net is that the "shares" don't appear to yield a dividend.

If they paid out the coins earnt in node processing fees (unless I don't understand the node fees structure) as dividends to the share holders (as 50+1 for themselves) then they'd be onto a platinum service.
BTC 1SExsxcbXWkuRbhLhKG1w8KgXp1eY1GbN | SXC SEXYKUp7CYWKLWr54UtBKVnfjoN13Ybpha | http://tinyurl.com/CryptopiaSexCoin

Timelord2067

  • #WhoviansAU
  • Porn Star
  • **
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +7/-0
  • Piss is the new Cum
    • Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror (and) Conventions Forum #SFFHCF
Re: Setting up a "Node"
« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2017, 01:01:28 am »
there is nothing to reset the node, but you can reset single properties.

take a look to the sign right of the two arrows.

greets

christian

bitnodes.net have fallen out of favour as they don't reply to enquires let alone fix broken issues as discussed on their BCT thread.

In any event, I have an old laptop with an installed instance of the 0.10.4.0 wallet up and running 24/7/365.25 to help spread the load of block sharing whenever someone new installs and downloads the block chain from scratch.

If other people have an old laptop with HD space and an open (ie unlimited) internet feed then we can help spread the load base ( and lava was explaining that it helps "vote" for the current wallet Vs any interlopers who might come along...)
BTC 1SExsxcbXWkuRbhLhKG1w8KgXp1eY1GbN | SXC SEXYKUp7CYWKLWr54UtBKVnfjoN13Ybpha | http://tinyurl.com/CryptopiaSexCoin